PATA Nepal Chapter elects New Executive Committee and honors industry pioneers at 45th AGM

PATA Nepal Chapter elects New Executive Committee and honors industry pioneers at 45th AGM

Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA) Nepal Chapter efficiently concluded its 45th Annual General Meeting at Park Village Resort below the theme “Nepal Tourism 2.0: Charting the Future Course.” The AGM unanimously appointed the brand new Executive Committee, with Khem Raj Lakai, CEO of the Global Academy of Tourism & Hospitality Education (GATE), as Chairman. He succeeds Bibhuti Chand Thakur, who was elected Chairman on December 18, 2019, and stays within the Executive Committee because the Immediate Past Chairman.

Upon his appointment, Khem Lakai expressed, “I am deeply honored and humbled by this opportunity. It is with profound gratitude and a great sense of responsibility that I step into the role of chairman of PATA. Being entrusted with the legacy of this esteemed institution is a privilege. My association with PATA spans several years, be it as a board of trustee of the PATA Foundation, or PATA HQ elected Board member, including extensive service within the PATA Nepal Chapter. I am delighted to announce that the PATA Nepal Chapter is celebrating its 49th anniversary. I want to honor the memory of our founding father, the late Prabahakar SJB Rana, who brought this wonderful organization to Nepal and continuously nurtured by amazing leaders of our industry. His vision of connecting Nepal to the world now rests on our shoulders. Unity is crucial for Nepal in all spectrum of professions, and we cannot afford to delay. Once united, we can transform the narrative of our beautiful nation and inspire the world. On behalf of the new executive committee, I pledge to the entire tourism community to join forces and realize our shared dream through tourism.”

Accordingly, the AGM elected General Secretary – Narendra dev Bhatta (Managing Director – Heritage Tours & Travel), Hon. Treasurer –Reetal Rana (Managing Director – Mid Valley International College). Other Executive Members embrace. Lakhpa Phuti Sherpa (Founder – Luxury DMC Travel), Rupesh Joshi (Director –Buddha Air), Binod Adhikari (Director – Aarya village Travels), Sunil Bahadur Bhattrai (Executive Director – Busy Bee Cafe), Mr. Himmat Puri (Director – Destinago Tours & Travel), Sarita Lama (MD – Off The wall Trekking) and Tenzing Peyang  Lama (Director – Hotel Lhasa International (Dusit Princess Kathmandu). During the AGM, PATA Nepal Chapter additionally elected 4 Proxy Members to its Executive Committee together with Dr. Smritee Kala Pant  (Head of BHM/BHTM- Little Angels’ College of Management), Prakash Chandra Lohani (Chairman-Alpine Rescue Service), Suman Ghimire (Executive Director-Jungle Safari lodge), and Imu Regmi (Director –Basera Boutique Hotel).

The Executive Committee additionally includes of 4 Ex officio members together with Director General – Department of Tourism, Director General – Civil Aviation Authority of Nepal), Corporate Director – Nepal Airlines, and Representative of Nepal Tourism Board.

During the Formal Function and Annual Award Presentation Ceremony within the night of the AGM, PATA Nepal Chapter awarded  Ambica Shrestha (President of Dwarika’s Hotels & Resorts) and Shyam Bahadur Pandey (Founder of Hotel Shangrila) with the distinguished “PATA Lifetime Achievement Award 2024”. This recognition honors their devoted years of outstanding voluntary service, management, important contributions, and invaluable dedication to the affiliation and the tourism and hospitality industry in Nepal.

Lakpa Sonam Sherpa (Chairman of Yeti Group) has been rewarded with “PATA Tourism Trailblazer Award 2024” for his distinctive management, pioneering initiatives, and excellent contributions to selling, increasing, and creating the tourism industry in Nepal.

Bharat Basnet (Founder of Explore Nepal) has been bestowed with the “PATA Personality of the Year 2024” Award for his unconditional help, persistent activism, advocacy, and commendable engagement in direction of the promotion and sustainable improvement of Nepal’s tourism sector, in addition to his invaluable contributions to the affiliation over time.

Similarly, Narendra Deo Bhatta (Founder of Heritage Tours and Travels) was honored with the “PATA Special Contribution Award 2024” for his unwavering dedication and memorable contributions to Nepalese tourism, in addition to his distinctive authorized steerage and help to the affiliation.

Likewise, The Premiere Hotel School, Itahari, acquired the “PATA Best Student Chapter of the Year 2023” Award in recognition of their dedication and contributions in partaking with the initiatives and occasions of the PATA Nepal Chapter all through 2023.

During this system, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Georg Arlt (Founder of Meaningful Tourism Center) delivered the keynote speech on “Nepal Tourism 2.0,” sharing the manifesto of outcomes from the Experts Roundtable Meet organized by the PATA Nepal Chapter on June 5, 2024. On behalf of the Meaningful Tourism Center primarily based in Germany, he introduced the Meaningful Tourism Award (Gold) to the Community Homestay Network, Tiger Mountain Pokhara Lodge, and KGH Group of Hotels and Resorts. Similarly, the Nepal Academy of Tourism & Hotel Management acquired the Meaningful Tourism Award (Silver), whereas the Nepal Airlines Corporation and Hotel Himalaya acquired the Meaningful Tourism Award (Bronze).

The Chief Guest, Honorable Minister of Culture, Tourism, and Civil Aviation, expressed his happiness at the unanimous election of the New Executive Committee, noting that such unity is uncommon amongst establishments and organizations within the nation these days. He shared the Government’s goal of attracting 1.6 million vacationers in 2024 and invited the personal sector to introduce new and inventive tourism merchandise in worldwide supply markets to spice up vacationer inflow. Additionally, he dedicated to working in direction of eradicating VAT on air tickets and different pointless taxes in tourism to encourage and improve the extremely potential and rewarding tourism sector.

The outgoing chairman Bibhuti Chand Thakur prolonged because of all of the members and stakeholders of Nepal’s tourism for the continued collaboration and help to the affiliation; inviting and requesting all current to work collectively for sustainable progress and improvement of tourism within the nation.


Pacific Asia Travel Association, PATA Nepal Chapter, “Nepal Tourism 2.0: Charting the Future Course.”, Narendra dev Bhatta, Khem Lakai

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »